Gluten and Cane Sugar Free Oatmeal Cookies

*Originally posted May 25, 2013

I came a step closer to finding a sugar and gluten free cookie.  I have the biggest sweet tooth on earth, and when I ran out of pure cane sugar, I decided to hold off on buying a new bag and start working on some baked goods with sugar alternatives. What I like about this version is that you can’t really taste the banana, and the dark chocolate makes up for the less sweet taste.  A few years ago I cut way back on sugar, and my sugar cravings became less intense/frequent.  I don’t know what caused me to fall off the wagon, but I did, and I’m trying to get back to this point (but part of me doesn’t want to.  I really think I am a true addict when it comes to sugar).  I used all purpose flour this time, but next time I might use sweet rice flour as I find it works better with baked goods.

P1000971

  • 1 1/2 cups uncooked rolled oats
  • 3/4 cups All-Purpose GF Flour
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1 medium banana
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (or raisins, etc)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Mix all ingredients in a medium bowl – make sure to blend it well enough that there’s no chunks of banana.
  3. Place rounded spoonfuls of dough onto a cookie sheet and bake for about 7-10 minutes, until light golden brown. Remove from oven and let the cookies finish baking on the cookie sheet for about 5 more minutes. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment